Tag Question

Tag Question

Definition: Tag means something small that is added on or attached after a sentence. In a tag question, the speaker makes a statement, but is not entirely certain of the truth, so a tag question is used to get the confirmation from the listeners. Sentences using the tag questions should have the main clause separated from the tag by a comma. The sentence will always end with a question mark.

 Requirements: Clear concept on Auxiliary Verb and Pronoun

Auxiliary verb

To be verb am, is, are, was, were
To have verb have, has, had
To do verb do, does, did
Modal auxiliary can, could, may, might, shall, should, will, would, ought to, need to, dare to, must, used to

Pronoun: I, we, you, he, she, it, they, one and there

 Look at the chart below.

Basic rules Imperative sentence
1.       Put auxiliary verb

2.       Either add n’t or escape

3.       Use pronoun of subject

Imperative sentences normally start with

verb, let, please, kindly, always, never

1.       Let us/ let’s = shall we

2.       Rest of all Imperative sentences=will you/won’t you

3.       Offer or invitation = won’t you

Look at the following example
a.       Rana is a good boy, isn’t he?

b.       He doesn’t read in this school, does he?

c.       You have not done well, have you?

d.       We work hard, don’t we?

e.       She works hard, doesn’t she?

f.         You worked hard, didn’t you?

g.       Fishes cannot fly, can they?

h.       The man would do it, wouldn’t he

i.         I ought to respect our elders, oughtn’t I?

a.       Let us discuss the topic, shall we?

b.       Let’s have a party, shall we?

c.       Let me discuss it, will you/won’t you?

d.       Let them have a party, will you/won’t you?

e.       Open the door, will you/won’t you?

f.         Please open the door, will you/won’t you?

g.       Kindly do me a favour, will you/won’t you?

h.       Always obey your seniors, will you/won’t you?

i.         Never leave the honest path, will you/won’t you?

 Explanation of basic rules

1.1 Use auxiliary verb that is given in the sentence.

If there is no auxiliary verb in the sentence, use to do verb.

Simple Present = do/does  (verb + s/es = does           Otherwise = do)

Simple Past = did

2.1  auxiliary verb + n’t

Exceptional: Am not =aren’t/ ain’t, cannot = can’t , shall not = shan’t, will not = won’t

2.2 No, never, not, neither, nobody, no one, none, nothing, scarcely, hardly, few, seldom, barely, rarely, too…..to, little etc express negative sense.

2.3 a/ the  + little or few = tag will be negative                        

3.1 Use pronouns like I, we, you, he, she, it, they, one, there as subject of the tag

Reminder:    1. Only subject of a tag question affects the verb.

                        2. unseen/uncountable/distance/money/time/weight/volume is singular subject

 Extensive Rules

  1. Tag will be followed according to the principal clause of complex sentence. If two clauses are added by that/than, tag will be followed by the last sentence.
  2. Look at the following contraction
a.       ’m = am b.       ’re=are
c.       ’ve = have d.       ’ll =shall/will
e.       ’d = would/had (would+verb1/had+verb3) f.         ’s = is/was/has (is+verb1+ing/has+verb3)    

 

 

Look at the chart.

Subject of given sentences Subject of Tag Question
Male/The sun he
Female/The moon/Bangladesh she
Allah, Creator, God  He (first letter will be capital)
Object/thing/this/that/baby/child it
Third person plural/these/those they
Everybody, everyone, anybody, anyone, somebody, someone, nobody, no one, none,  many a they
One one/he/she
Nothing, anything, something, everything it
Abstract noun like the father, the mother, the sister, the brother, the lion, the fox, the beast it
There there
The + common noun (The poor/The rich/The educated etc) they
The Jury/the committee (same opinion)

The Jury/the committee (different opinion)

it

they

Exclamatory sentences without subject and verb assume according to the sentence
All of (us/you/them), neither of (us/you/them), Some of (us/you/them), Many of (us/you/them), Most of (us/you/them), Every one of (us/you/them), Each of (us/you/them), Either of (us/you/them) we/you/they
No + money/salt any
Infinitive (to+ verb) or Gerund (verb + ing) it
Compound Subject
(231= 2nd person, 3rd person, 1st person) You, he and I we
Confessing guilt (123) I, you and he we
You and I we
He and I we
You and he You
He and she They
The + sub + and + the + sub

The + sub + and + sub

plural  subject

singular subject

Two subjects added with either..or, neither…nor, not only…but also, both….and, as well as, with, together with, along with, accompanied by, in addition to plural  subject

 Exceptional tag question

1.       Allah/God only can help us, can’t He? 2.       The sooner, the better, isn’t it?
3.       Good morning, don’t I? 4.       All that glitters is not gold, is it?
5.       Mou, aren’t you? 6.       Two and two make four, don’t they?
7.       Messi, isn’t he? 8.       Slow and steady win the race, don’t they?
9.       Who cares, do they? 10.   Sweety used to tell a lie, didn’t she?
11.   Goodbye, don’t I? 12. Thank you, don’t I?
12.   Happy birthday, don’t I? 13.   That he is honest is known to all, isn’t it?
14.   A boy like you should do this, shouldn’t you? 15.   That the earth rounds the sun is universal, isn’t it?
16.   The visitor that he guided was not a man, was she?

 Exercises on tag question

She is pretty, –? You have done well, –? He will play football, –? She can play the piano, –? He may pass the exam, –? The man would do it, —? A good student is always attentive to his study, –? Arif read a story book yesterday, –?  Arif’s performance is praiseworthy, –? Bangladesh is a small country,–? I had a bad headache yesterday, –? Rina will sing a folk song, –? Her mother couldn’t walk, –? Man cannot live alone, –? Man cannot live without food, –? Susmita will sing a song, –? The brave should be encouraged, –? The idle cannot prosper, –? To err is human, –? We have to study English, –? We must eat vegetables, –? We ought to respect our teachers, –? We should learn English for our experience, –? You don’t know it, –? You need not go there, –? He needs to do it, –? She needs to save it, –? He doesn’t read in this school, –? He didn’t take sugar in the tea, –? He dare not do it, –? He need not go there, –? Man is not immortal, –? She can play the piano, –? Rina will sing a folk song, –? Fishes can swim, –? He used to like you, –? Mr Brown teaches us English, –? Harun plays cricket, –?  Education broadens the mind, –? Rahim went to Dhaka yesterday, –? Rima cooked rice, –? My friends play football, –? He invited me, –?  A lie never lies hidden for long, –? I prefer milk to tea, –? Grammeen bank provides loan to the poor, –? He hit us, –? The moon shines at night, –? America attacked Iraq, –? The nun leads a simple life, –? The sun having set, we reached home, –? The sun shines by day, –? Time and tide wait for none, –? We need good friends, –? Your mother prepared the cup of coffee, –? Your niece looks beautiful, –? He needs it, –? They came here, –? Reza got a job, –? She kept silent, –? She told me the matter, –? A barking dog seldom bites, –? A   good rain can give us some relief, –?

 

Shut the door, –? Close the book, –?   Respect the old, –?  Open the door, –?   Wait here a moment, –?  Open the door, –? Open the window, –? Shut up, –? Study attentively, –? Tell me your address, –? Write a short composition, –? Wait a moment, –? Sit down please, –? Give me a glass of water, –? Give me a hand, –? Lend me your car please, –? Please lend me some money, –?  Please help me, –? Please lend me some money, –? Kindly do me a favour, –? Never tell a lie, –? Don’t forget me, –?  Don’t boil rice, –? Don’t disturb me, –?  Don’t make a noise, –? Do not touch live electric wire, –?  Don’t forget me, –? Do not hate the poor, –? Bring me a book, –? Call in a doctor, –? Do not do it again, –? Do your study in time, –? Don’t be late, –? Don’t do there alone, –? Don’t drop the vase, –? Don’t forget me, –?  Don’t waste time, –? Let me come in to the room, –? Let me speak the truth, –? Let her discuss the matter, –? Let him build his nation, –? Let them play cricket, –? Let me have a walk, –? 

Let us discuss the topic, –? Let us go home, –? Let’s go out, –? Let’s have a party, –? Let’s have some fun, –? Let’s speak the truth, –? Let’s discuss the matter, –? Let us build our nation, –? Let us work together, –? Let’s arrange a picnic, –? Let’s play cricket, –? Let’s have a walk, –?  Let’s go on a picnic, –? Let’s have a walk by the riverside, –?

 

I’m waiting for him, –? I’ll be your well wishers, –? I am a student, –? I can be happy, –? I will be ten years old, –? I shall be punctual, –?  I am glad to see you, –? I will be happy, –? I am late for home, –? I am pleased, –?  He’ll play football, –? I am ten years old, –? I shall help you, –? I’m your friend, –? You will be late today, –? You’ll never been Paris, –? You’re happy, –? They’ll not follow you, –? They will go to the Zoo, –? They cannot tell the false, –? He will finish the work, –? He’ll play football, –? I’m not telling a lie, –? I’m really happy, –? He’s hungry, –? I’m late, –? I’m not really starving, –? I’m not well, –?  I‘m pleased at his conduct, –? I’m your well wisher, –?

 

Everybody should do his duty,–? Somebody wanted to go with you,–? Everybody should help me,–? Everybody could understand it,–? Everybody played well, –? Everyone wants to be happy, –? Everybody welcomed you,–? Everybody can read books,–? Everyone knows it,–? Everybody saw you, –? Many a rose is born to blush unseen,–? Many a man will come, –? Everybody played well, –? Everybody warned you, –? Everyone could understand it, –? Many a rose is born to blush unseen, –? Many a man will come, –? Nobody called me, –? None can do it, –? Nobody Phoned, –? Neither of them went, –? Neither of them did it, –? None can avoid death –? Nobody attended the meeting, –? None came forward, –? None of them knew the answer,–? Nobody believed him, –? Nobody called me, –? Nobody phoned him, –? None can do it, –? No one would object, –? Nobody believes a liar, –? Everybody has self of respect, –? Everybody is dancing, –? Everybody desires success, –? Everybody likes flower, –? Every mother loves her child, –? Everybody is liable to error, –?  Every teacher loves his student, –? Everybody knows it, –? Everyone knows it, –? Everyone likes an honest man, –? Everybody was there, –?  No one is free from mistake, –? Nobody has done it, –? Nobody dislikes flower, –? Nobody believes him, –?

 

One can help you, –? One will know it, –? One should do one’s duty, –? One can be succeeded in without it, –?  One will join us, –? One may fail, –? One has to do it, –? One has to be conscious, –? One person cannot be called people, –? One could conceive of it, –?  One saw that coming, –?  One knows it, –? One can say about it, –? One will speak more respectfully, –? One may almost doubt, –? One farmer says to me, –? One had written a composition, –? One chose the horse, –? One should take care of one’s health, –?

 

Nothing can happen, –? Nothing can revive this worse situation, –? Nothing comes or goes, –? Nothing is certain, –? Nothing remains certain, –? Nothing terrible has happened, –? Nothing was done, –? Nothing is impossible, –? Nothing is certain, –? Everything looked beautiful, –? Something should be done, –? Nothing can concern you, –? Nothing comes from nothing, –? Nothing is impossible in this world, –? Everything looked beautiful, –? Everything looked nice, –? Nothing can satisfy him, –? Nothing comes of goes, –? Nothing is certain in this world, –? Nothing is certain, –? Nothing is working, –? Nothing remains certain, –? Nothing was done, –? Something is better than nothing, –? Everything was alright, –? Every action has an equal and opposite reaction, –?

 

He hardly comes here, –? He hardly believes me, –? Nobody called you, –? He has little idea, –? He seldom comes here, –? I have few friends, –? We see him scarcely, –? It hardly rained at all this summer, –? It hardly rains here, –? It’s hardly rained during the rainy season, –? Someone has stolen his pen, –? Somebody has called, –? Somebody wanted a pen, –? Somebody wanted to drink, –? Rumi hardly goes to market, –? She scarcely goes to market, –? Salam hardly comes here, –? I have few friends, –? We see him scarcely, –? My friends and I hardly go there, –? He spent few hours with us, –? The little girl knew a little of the matter, –? The oldest of the men little thinks about death, –? He hardly believes me, –? He hardly realise it,–? He hardly studies, –? He has few friends, –? He seldom comes here, –? An ideal student hardly studies, –? I go there hardly, –? I have few story books, –? I have hardly seen him, –? I have a little rice, –? I have a few books, –? I shall never tell a lie, –? I could hardly go there,–? He rarely remembers his past,–? Few people were present there,–? There’s little we can do about it,–? It’s hardly rained this summer,–?

 

There is no king in China, –?  There is a mistake, –? There are many books on the table, –? There is not any cloud in the sky, –? There is a mistake, –? There is no pond in this village, –? There wasn’t enough time, –? There’s been an accident, –? There has been an accident, –? There is no pond in the village, –? There is no water in the glass, –? There is something wrong, –? There was none there, –? There’s a big match tonight, –? There’s a lot of talk of a new restaurant, –?

 

The girl in her pleased us all, –?  The father rose in him, –? The mother rose in her, –? The brother in him arose, –? The father rose in him, –? The boy in him pleased us all, –? The brother in him rose, –? The girl in her will surprise you, –? The girl in her surprised us all, –? The fox is found in him, –? The beast was noticed in her, –? A healthy man can reside only in a healthy body,–? 

 

All of them hate her, –? Each of us has our problem, –? Neither of the boys is honest, –? Neither of them complained, –? Neither of them did it, –? Neither of them is guilty, –? Neither of them was responsible, –? Neither of them went there, –? Neither of them will go there, –? Neither Rafiq nor his friend helped us, –? Each of us has our problem, –? Each of the boys got a prize, –? Either you or your brother came here, –? Each of them got ten taka, –? Neither of them went, –?

 

The baby is crying for its mother, –?  The dog is a faithful animal, –? This is a nice book, –? These sounds can be easily avoided, –? This book is rare now, –? That sounds good, –? That sounds great, –? The baby begins to cry, –?

 

The moon, Homeland, Titanic, Train, Ship, The Earth, Boat, The Spring, Bus, River, Nature, Liberty, Justice, Mercy, Hope,  Aeroplane, Charity, Love, Steamer, The Autumn, Launch ….. Subject will be she.
The Sun, Summer, Winter, Fire, death, Storm, Flood, war, winter, Sidr, Tidal bore, Tidal wave, Earthquake, Cyclone …… Subject will be he.                                                                
The moon has hidden her face behind the cloud, –? The spring came with all her beauties, –?  Bangladesh is not rich in mineral resources, –?   The Jamuna Express is running at a full speed, –?

 

The teacher as well as the workers may come, –? The prime minister with all the members of the cabinet went to the U.S.A, –?  I along with my friends enjoyed a picnic last month, –? The headmaster along with other teachers went to Dhaka, –? The Headmaster and the secretary said many things, –? The teacher as well as the workers may come, –? The prime minister with all the members of the cabinet went to the U.S.A, –? The man along with his family went to Dhaka, –? The boy as well as his brothers has come, –?  Suma together with Sumi came to my office, –?  The teacher as well as the students was present, –?  The students went to the principal and demanded new facilities in their college library, –?  Mr. Hassan along with his son visited our house,–?  Excitement, as well as nervousness, is the cause of her shaking, –? The politician, along with the newsmen, is expected shortly,–?

 

No money is allowed, –?   No salt is allowed, –?

 

To learn a language is like riding a cycle, –? To err is human, –? Walking is a good exercise, –? Swimming is good for health, –? Acquiring a language is more successful, –? Learning is like riding a cycle, –?  Feeding is a big challenge, –?  Swimming has been my passion, –?  Eating people is wrong, –?  Hunting tigers is dangerous, –? Flying makes me nervous, –?  Brushing your teeth is important, –? Smoking causes lung cancer, –?  Acting is fun, –?  Playing football is disgusting, –?  Walking on the beach is painful, –?

 

You and I are best friends, –? My parents and I are happy, –? You and he went there, –? You and I came to terms, –? My father and I were happy, –?

The helpless will be helped, –? The educated should be free from superstition, –? The helpless should be helped, –? The Idle cannot prosper in life, –? The unfed should be fed, –? The brave deserve the fear, –? The brave fight with courage, –? The strong always oppress the weak, –?

How fine the flower is! –? How lovely the bird is, –? How nice the flower is, –? How sweet the birds sing, –? How time does fly, –? What a pity, –? How odd, –? What a shame, –? How funny, –?  How interesting, –? How awful, –?

 

Tag will be followed according to the principal clause of complex sentence
If you pinch me, I will feel pain, –?  The girl who came to me is my sister, –? When he came, I was sleeping, –? Men who live long grow old, –? When you go there, I will meet you,–? I asked him if he had done his assignment,–? Though he was very rich, he was still very unhappy,–? She returned the computer after she noticed it was damaged,–? When the cost goes up, customers buy less clothing,–? As she was bright and ambitious, she became manager in no time,–? Wherever you go, you can always find beauty,–? The movie, though very long, was still very enjoyable,–? Evergreen trees are a symbol of fertility because they do not die in the winter,–? He got a part in a movie although the part was a small one,–? The museum was very interesting as I expected,–? As he is rich, people respect him,–? The professional, who had been thoroughly trained, was at a loss to explain,–? When she was younger, she believed in fairy tales. After the tornado hit the town, there was little left standing. I have to save this coupon because I don’t have time to shop right now,–? Let’s go back to the restaurant where we had our first date,–? Although my cousin invited me, I chose not to go to the reunion,–? As genes change over time, evolution progresses,–? I really didn’t like the play although the acting was very good,–? Everyone laughed when he got a cream pie smashed in his face,–? No one knows what’ll happen next, –?  It is man who pollutes the environment, –? If you work hard, you must do well, –? Men who live long will say it, –?

 

I think that he is right, –? He told that you were not at home,–?  The visitor that he guided was not a man, –? It is hoped that he will come in time, –? They said that the movie was fantastic,–? He said that he was so disappointed,–? We think that we can touch the stars,–? This is the house that Jack built,–? He will understand that I was not joking,–? Pinto tasted the wine that his mother bought for him,–? He said (that) he was enjoying his work,–? I believe that he is innocent,–? She said that she can speak three languages,–? I suspect that she eloped with her boyfriend,–? It was rather a shock that she should forget me so quickly,–? The teacher should know that everything is unacceptable,–? It surprised me that he was still in bed,–? She made it clear that she wouldn’t accept the proposal,–? I hope that you will enjoy your holiday,–? She didn’t really think that it would happen,–? I knew that I had seen her somewhere before,–? They admitted that they had made a mistake,–? She argued that they should invest more in the business,–? He made a promise that he would do all he could to help,–? I had a funny feeling that something was wrong,–? She pointed out the danger that they might be left behind,–? There was a chance that we would succeed,–? Everybody was pleased that the danger was past,–? It is lucky that you were able to drive us home,–? Everyone agrees that we have to act quickly,–? It’s easy to forget that she’s just a child,–? Recent research proves that global warming is already a reality,–? The children complained that they had nothing to do,–? I am sorry that you can’t come,–? It is found that an ancient king had many wives,–?

No sooner had the sun risen than the fog disappeared,–?  No sooner had I finished my studies than I got a good job,–?   No sooner had the sun disappeared below the horizon than darkness began to envelop the planet,–?  No sooner had the police left the scene than trouble started brewing again,–? Hardly had the child started crying when his mother lifted him up,–?  Hardly had I gone to bed when I fell asleep,–?  Hardly had I taken a dose of medicine when I started feeling better,–?  Scarcely had I reached the station when the train arrived,–?  Scarcely had I eaten the fish, when I started feeling sick,–?  Scarcely had they completed the work when they demanded the wages ,–?

 

He’d go there, –? She’d catch fish, –?  He’d gone there, –? He’d done it, –?  He’d finished the work, –? Toma’s missed it, –?  He’s going to dance club, –? He’s reading yesterday, –? It‘s hardly rained at all this summer, –?  He’d done the work, –? It’s hardly rained during the rainy season, –? There’s been an accident, –? You’ve done a lot of mistakes, –? He’s reading yesterday, –? It‘s hardly rained at all this summer, –? There’s too much work to do, –? He’d finished the work, –? My father’s birthday is on April, 20 –? You’d get a job, –? You’d rather go, –? He’d gone there, –? He’s working now, –? He’s worked a lot, –? He’d go there, –? He’d gone there, –?

 

Exercise-1

(a) Most of the students who fail in English don’t have strong foundation over grammar, —–?
(b) They read only to pass the examination, —-?
(c) Teachers should motivate them to learn the basic thing, —-?
(d) They can’t help learning grammar, —-?
(e) Moreover, practice is essential too, —-?

Answer :
(a) do they? (b) don’t they? 
(c) shouldn’t they? (d) can they? (e) isn’t it?

Exercise-2
(a) Nobody believes a cheat, —-?
(b) Everybody hates him, —-?
(c) He has to drag a miserable life, —-?
(d) He can hardly succeed in life, —-?
(e) Let us always speak the truth, —-?

Answer :
(a) do they? (b) don’t they? (c) hasn’t he? (d) can he? (e) shall we?

Exercise-3
(a) I am Rajib, a boy of class 10, —-?
(b) I am reading in science group. I aim to be a doctor, —-?
(c) But my parents want that I shall be an army officer, —-?
(d) I have to work hard for whatever I want to be. Because success in life depends on hard work, —-?
(e) ¸ parents always advise me to work hard, —-?

Answer :
(a) aren’t I? (b) don’t I? (c) shan’t I? (d) doesn’t it? (e) don’t they?

Exercise-4
(a) I am sorry, Ramit. I am very late, —-?
(b) There was a traffic jam, —-?
(c) Oh! Don’t worry. The train is late, —-?
(d) Then, have a cup of tea, —-?
(e) Yes. Let’ go to the canteen, —-?

Answer :
(a) aren’t I? (b) wasn’t there? (c) isn’t it? (d) will you? (e) shall we?

Exercise-5
(a) I am doing a very important work. Don’t disturb me, —-?
(b) Rupa said to Mina, ‘Hwo happy you are in a nuclear family!’—-?
(c) ¸ cousin lives in a village. He hardly comes here, —-?
(d) I study in a reputed school. I am a student, —-?
(e) Don’t make late. Let’s go, —-?

Answer :
(a) will you? (b) aren’t you? (c) does he? (d) aren’t I? (e) shall we?

Exercise-6
(a) Mina is having a birthday party in the afternoon, —-?
(b) Yes, she is. She’s been busy in cleaning and dusting the drawing room, —-?
(c) Yesterday her father brought her a lovely dress, —-?
(d) And her mother wants to give her a pleasant surprise, —-?
(e) Certainly, let’s buy a nice gift for you, —-?

Answer :
(a) isn’t she? (b) hasn’t she? (c) didn’t he? (d) doesn’t she? (e) shall we?


Exercise-13
(a) The wind blows gently in the spring, —-?
(b) Let them do the work, —-?
(c) Hwo nice the flowers are, —-?
(d) Everything looks beautiful in a moonlit night, —-?
(e) work hard to succeed, —-?

Answer :
(a) doesn’t it? (b) will you? (c) aren’t they? (d) doesn’t it? (e) will you?

Exercise-14
(a) Your letter gave me much pleasure, —-?
(b) I am glad to inform you about our sports day, —-?
(c) We decorated the school campus colourfully, —-?
(d) Among the events, sack race and three leg race were interesting, —-?
(e) None could resist laughter watching these events, —-?

Answer :

(a) didn’t it? (b) aren’t I? (c) didn’t we? (d) weren’t they? (e) could they?

Exercise-15

(a) We see that Masum has little knowledge about games and sports, —-?
(b) Let’s talk to him, —-?
(c) We think, he doesn’t knwo hwo to play tennis, —-?
(d) Everybody praises an all rounder, —-?
(e) Though he is a good student, he is layy, —-?

Answer :
(a) has he? (b) shall we? (c) does he?  (d) don’t they?  (e) isn’t he?

Exercise-16
(a) Telling lies is a great sin, —-?
(b) One lie begets hundred lies, —-?
(c) None believes a liar, —-?
(d) He has to lead a miserable life, —-?
(e) So all of us ought to refrain from telling lies, —-?

Answer :
(a) isn’t it? (b) doesn’t it? (c) do they? (d) hasn’t he? (e) oughtn’t we?

 

